

SCOTT T. MURAKAMI DIRECTOR

LEONARD HOSHIJO **DEPUTY DIRECTOR** 

## STATE OF HAWAII DEPARTMENT OF LABOR AND INDUSTRIAL RELATIONS

830 PUNCHBOWL STREET, ROOM 321 HONOLULU, HAWAII 96813

www.labor.hawaii.gov Phone: (808) 586-8844 / Fax: (808) 586-9099 Email: dlir.director@hawaii.gov

## STATE FIRE COUNCIL (SFC) 2018 FIRE CODE TELECONFERENCE MEETING **MINUTES**

Date of Meeting:

July 18, 2019

Time of Meeting:

1:00 p.m.

Place of Meeting:

Honolulu Fire Department (HFD) Auditorium

636 South Street

Honolulu, Hawaii 96813

Department of Fire and Public Safety, County of Maui (MFD)

Kahului Fire Station Conference Room

200 Dairy Road

Wailuku, Hawaii 96740

Hawaii County Fire Department (HCFD) Puna Conference Room (Suite 1501)

25 Aupuni Steet Hilo, Hawaii 96720

Kauai Fire Department (KFD)

Suite 315

4444 Rice Street Lihue, Hawaii 96766

## Present:

Manuel P. Neves

SFC Chair

Fire Chief, HFD

David Thyne

SFC Member

Fire Chief, MFD

Darren Rosario

SFC Member

Fire Chief, HCFD

Kilipaki Vaughan

Deputy Fire Chief, KFD

Valeriano Martin

Assistant Fire Chief, MFD

## SFC 2018 Fire Code Teleconference Meeting Minutes July 18, 2019 Page 2

Soncy Tamashiro

Secretary, KFD

Lloyd Rogers

SFC Administrative Specialist

Gary Lum

SFC Administrative Specialist

Adam Rosenberg

**Deputy Attorney General** 

Department of the Attorney General

State of Hawaii

I. Introduction

A. Chair Neves called the meeting to order at 1:10 p.m.

B. Chair Neves welcomed everyone, and the introduction of attendees followed.

C. Approval of Agenda

Motion: Member Rosario motioned to approve the agenda. Member Thyne

seconded the motion. The motion passed.

Record of Votes:

Chair Neves - Aye

Member Rosario - Aye Member Thyne - Aye

II. Review and Possible Approval of the National Fire Protection Agency's (NFPA) 1 Fire Code, 2018 Edition Amendment Package

Motion: Member Rosario motioned to approve the NFPA 1 Fire Code, 2018

Edition Amendment Package. Member Thyne seconded the motion.

The motion passed.

Record of Votes:

Chair Neves - Aye

Member Rosario - Aye Member Thyne - Aye

III. The meeting was adjourned at 1:16 p.m.

MANUEL P. NEVES

Chair